Sheldon ISD joins other Texas public school districts in celebrating ‘School Board Recognition Month’

“Our school board members are volunteers who shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices for our district, all without pay,” Dr. Davis said. “Their goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district – and celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way to say thanks for all they do.”

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools.

Sheldon ISD Board members include Latricia Archie, President; Eileen Palmer, Vice President; Angela Cormier, Secretary; Ken Coleman, Board Member; Erika Martinez, Board Member; Devora Myles, Board Member; and Fred Rivas, Board member.

“It’s more important than ever before that communities support public education so that today’s students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow,” Dr. Davis added. “Please take a moment and tell school board members ‘thanks for caring about our children and giving so much to our community.’ Let them know we support them and that their dedicated service is recognized and truly appreciated.”